Kris at Garden Varieties tagged me, and I try to respond to polite requests, she wants to know what I snack on, who wouldn’t be flattered by that?

The rules:

1. The rules of the game get posted at the beginning

2. Each player answers the questions about themselves.

3. At the end of the post, the player tags 5 people and posts their name, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog.

What was I doing 10 years ago?

Um, I was 20, living at home, studying medieval (Irish & Italian) history and art history and struggling with learning Italian, and trying to work out what I was supposed to do with myself and who I was. Pretty standard stuff, nothing really exciting happened. My Dad had started working from home when I finished school, and I was home a lot (insert your own Arts student jokes here) so I had a chance to get to know him better after all those years when he worked really long hours outside the house. I injured my knee playing basketball that year and spent a few weeks lying on the couch. I also got good at scone making that year and started taking them to class to share.

Five snacks I enjoy in a perfect, non weight-gaining world whenever I damn well please but usually in moderation:

Fair trade organic chocolate

Lime & cracked pepper chips

French cheese

Cashew nuts

More fair trade organic chocolate. Maybe I can have two entries if I make one milk and one dark.

Five snacks I enjoy in the real world on a more regular basis:

Carrots and celery with dip. We’re big fans of hummus and tzatsiki around here.

Local(ish) cheese

Biscuits. I made very yummy orange ones a few weeks ago and I think I should turn that into a regular thing.

Homemade bread. Sometimes with peanut butter, sometimes with jam. I miss having crunchy peanut butter, but parenting requires sacrifice. I don’t have Vegemite since I broke an unopened jar, replaced it on the next supermarket trip and then promptly broke that one too.

Fruit. At the moment a lot of mandarins get eaten around here. I also eat a few half bananas (the lad doesn’t always finish them).

Five things I would do if I were a billionaire:

In no particular order (just in case anyone with an interest is reading):

Buy us a house. Nothing really flash, just a house where the wardrobes doors don’t knock against the end of the bed would be nice, something with a sunny backyard, and very close to where we live now.

Travel. I’d like to find the hole in the wall wine bar in Florence again, and the Bloke wants to take us to dinner in India. There are a lot of other places on our list too. We’ll pretend for meme purposes that travel is carbon guilt free.

I probably would squander a bit on looking after my family. I have quite a lot of family, this might be quite a large line on the budget.

Set up something sustainable to provide for refugees in Australia, and use my billionaire heavy weight status to lobby the government to fix the laws that cause the worst of the problems.

Use some more of my billionaire heavyweight status to lobby for decent public transport and health care. There should be one rich person in this country who cares about those things.

Five jobs that I have had:

Nanny

Caterer

Admin assistant

Bookmaker’s assistant (taking bets at horse races)

Barmaid with heart of gold

Research assistant

Events manager

Museum collections officer

I know that’s more than five, but I short changed you on the chocolate thing, and on the habits.

Three of my habits:

Sitting in bed to read or work on the laptop. My toddler does impressions.

Fiddling with the skin around my nails.

Five places I have lived:

Flemington (2x)

Ascot Vale (3x)

North Carlton (x1)

East Brunswick (x1)

North Melbourne (x4)

Melbourne-based bloggers will notice that I could walk to each of my previous addresses. I’ve moved a lot, but never very far.

Five people I want to get to know more about:

I think everyone I read has done this already. If you haven’t, knock yourself out.

Five things to do today:

The meme Kris tagged me for (tick!)

Make bread (It’s not rising very well, this could take some time)

Work on the vest (a friend has taken the kid to the zoo and I have bonus hours of daytime craftyness!)

Hang out the washing and put dry washing away (thrilling inner city lifestyle!)

Ring the real estate agent about the lease

