The lad and I had our first go at baking together, moving on up from buttering his own toast and breaking up his own weetbix, to scones.

I put some flour and butter in a separate bowl for him to practice rubbing them together, then added some milk. Then we cut the mixture up with a small wine glass and put them on a tray. He enjoyed the “painting” of the scones with milk, and then I stuck them in the oven.

Then my mother out-law rang and I lost track of time, but they didn’t get too ruined, nor did the flour that was on the table end up too gluey while I was on the phone. The apples did end up in the mixing bowl and I had to wash them all. They’re probably a bit bruised, but no harm done.

first-batch-of-scones

eating-scones

scones-jam-cream

T’was a perfect accompaniment to watching horsies.

