A few weeks ago someone I’d just met, who is an artist, asked me if I was “a maker”. I dithered, as you do when describing yourself, I told him I don’t make much anymore, I knit and quilt a bit, I added. I was knee-deep in essay-writing at the time, and being anything other than “a student” was a bit tricky to get my head around.

Gavin wondered if I am at a loose end now that I am not a student. I can cheerfully say that I am not. I have been a maker.

making-zone

The Making Zone

One seam to go

One seam to go

I really hope the mother of the recipient doesn't blog

For a new baby friend

SuperThing

SuperThing

SuperThing was supposed to be for a birthday boy, but I’m not sure I can part with him. The Bloke says SuperThing needs pants, I suppose he cannot be a superhero without undies to put over his tights, in which case he would need tights. I’m not making tights.

The Bloke says if I want to make any more SuperThings he’ll sell me his old jumpers. This SuperThing is made from a wool/nylon jumper, a modified Bonds singlet, satin pillowcase, wool & embroidery cotton, with polyester fill. He’s quite a cuddly superhero, but I think he needs more work to get friendly eyes.

