I’m all about the political action these days (ok, not all, I’m also about the two hour commute, and I’m buggered) here is where you go to stick your oar in if you want the government to get past promoting breastfeeding and get on with the difficult work of actually supporting women to do it.

They’ve got some questions, you can email them your responses. Make it as long or short as you fancy, and feel free to tell them that you want them to start supporting all and sundry to upskill and become lactation consultants. I suggested they start making it financially rewarding for midwives, maternal and child health nurses and general practictioners to do the extra training. Then I suggested they do some breastfeeding education amongst health professionals more generally so that breastfeeding mothers aren’t undermined by clueless people.

